Welcome Message

The Department of Arts and Social Science Education (DASSE) is one of the four new Departments carved out in 2011/2012 session from the defunct Department of Education. The other Departments are those of Science and Mathematics Education, Educational Psychology and Counselling, and Educational Foundations and Curriculum.

However, DASSE has always been part of the Faculty of Education. This Faculty, which initially consisted of two Departments - Education and Library Science, took off as an independent and full-fledged Faculty on May 10, 1968 when it had its first Faculty Board under its first Dean, Professor H. Impecoven. Before then, the Department of Education had existed as one of the Departments in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. At that point in time, the Department of Education offered programmes in Education, Library Science and Post-Graduate Diploma in Education

Current HoD

Dr. Abdullahi Muhammad Aminu

HoD, Department of Arts and Social Sciences